Now Reading
Prosper ISD Athletic Hall of Honor Class of 2021

Prosper ISD Athletic Hall of Honor Class of 2021

Prosper ISD Athletics has announced their 2nd class to be inducted into the Hall of Honor. The district began the Hall of Honor in 2020 with five recognitions. The Hall of Honor is designed to recognize and celebrate those athletes, coaches, supporters and teams who have laid the foundation for what Prosper ISD Athletics is today.  Prosper has seen insurmountable successes in the past few years with multiple individual and team State Championships contributing to winning the 5A UIL Lone Star Cup in 2018!

The Hall of Honor committee is committed to inducting the best representatives of the district.  After a nomination process, the nomination committee deliberates and chooses the honorees from four categories:  Athletes, Coaches, Supporters, & Teams.

The Class of 2021 includes:

Bailey Belvis (Athlete)

Bailey graduated from Prosper ISD in 2009. Bailey was a UIL Cross Country State Champion in 2008 setting a State Record time of 11:10:24. Bailey ran track in the spring of 2008 finishing 2nd in the 800 Meters at the UIL State Meet with a time of 2:16:19 and also finished 4th in the 1600 meters with a time of 5:12:43. In 2009, she won the UIL State Championship at the State Track Meet in the 1600 meter race. Bailey went on to Missouri University on a track scholarship. While in attendance, she won several races and received several recognitions including All-Midwest Region and All Big 12 for Cross Country, All Big 12 for Indoor Track, All-Academic Honors, and First Team Academic All Big 12 for Cross Country.

Kim Castleberry (Athlete)

Kim also graduated from Prosper ISD in 2009. Kim was active in both track and soccer. In 2008 she won the UIL State Championship in the 400m race. She set many school records in long jump, the 200, the 400, the 4×100 relay, and the 4×400 relay. She was named the Soccer Offensive player of the year in 2007. Her Senior year she was the #1 recruited soccer player after receiving two NSCAA All Americans Recognitions and two High School Parade All American Recognitions. Kim went on to earn full scholarships at both Texas A&M and TCU.

Erin Kauffman (Coach)

Coach Kauffman just finished her seventh year at Prosper High School as the Volleyball Coach and Assistant Campus Coordinator. Coach Kauffman was an Assistant volleyball coach at SFA State University for four years and then served as a Varsity Assistant at Lovejoy High School. Since starting at Prosper, she has coached the PHS Varsity Volleyball team to six District Championships, five Regional Tournament appearances, a State Runner-up and a 5A State Championship in 2017. Coach Kauffman has numerous coaching awards:  5 time District Coach of the Year, 2 time Dallas Morning News Coach of the Year and PISD Head Coach of the Year.  She has been selected as an All Star coach by both TGCA & TAVC and was named the NFHS State Volleyball Coach of the Year in 2018.

2008 State Championship Football Team (Team)

In 2008, Prosper High School won the Class 3A, Division 1 State Championship with a 14-1 record on the season. Coached by Kent Scott with Team Captains of Hunter Nix, Cole Dafft, Ryan Carroll, Chase Petersen, and Drew Miller the team’s only loss was on Homecoming which proved to be the motivating factor to propel them all the way to the State Championship.

The journey wasn’t an easy one with a double overtime thriller win against Abilene Wylie in Semi-finals and then being down 10-0 at the half of the State Championship game. The team went on to defeat La Vega 17-10 to win the State Championship.

We will honor this class at our first home Football game of the 2020 season at Children’s stadium as well as with a formal Hall of Honor banquet in January.

View Comments (0)

Leave a Reply

© 2020 Prosper Magazine. All Rights Reserved.

Scroll To Top